Summertime Sadness

Someone is blasting that song

I remember the first time I heard it

In Forever 21 in Las Vegas in the mall

Inside Caesars Palace, across from the

Treasure Island where Ravi and I

Were staying on the 21st floor

I remember how he told me with

Excitement that he’d read on Reddit

How to bribe the concierge to get a

Better room, and he was going to try it.

He snuck a $20 bill under his card and

Marveled at how she made it disappear.

“Would you be interested in a free

Upgrade, Mr. and Mrs. S.?” I secretly

Loved it when they called me by

His last name.

Now my body filled up with the

Voice of Lana Del Rey as I searched

For the perfect necklace for the club

Instantly, I was in love. I went back

To the hotel and the pool party below

Was blasting a dubstep version of

The same song when R came back.

“I heard this song earlier,” he said,

“And I’ve been dying to show it to you.

I knew you would love it.

What do you think?”

I thought it would be a good idea to

Make use of the fainting sofa placed

Right in front of the floor to ceiling

Window, well, we both wanted

To look out the window, so

I was on my hands and knees

Getting banged on the 21st floor

For all of Vegas to see while

Lana Del Rey repeatedly sang,

“Got my bad baby

By my heavenly side,

I know if I go,

I’ll die happy tonight.”

Dubstep version of Summertime Sadness

Leave a comment