Taking Risks

Lately, I’ve been afraid that I’ll retract back into my hermit crab shell. I’ve been trying so hard to heal, reconnect with old friends, and make new connections, but I keep inadvertently chasing people away. Some of the things I’ve been through are so intense, it’s hard to know how much I can share with anyone else without overwhelming them. People love hearing about my good times and adventures, but it seems like I’m supposed to keep the rest to myself. I wish I could find the right person to share it all with, but at this point, it’s getting hard to trust that anyone will stick around for very long. I find myself cutting partners off before they get a chance to get too close, before we risk breaking our hearts.

Waterfall in Spring
Cutting through my cliff-side trail
I’m afraid to leap!

Credit Go Dog Go Cafe

The prose and haiku poem above were written for today’s Haibun Wednesday prompt by Go Dog Go Cafe.

#GoDogGoCafe

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Good to see you here at the Go Dog Go Cafe Haibun Wednesday ♥️
    This haibun is lovely and a quandary indeed…one I continue to navigate as well!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Donna 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment